Every relationship comes to an end, and the same thing happens with social networks. One day you have a good time on Twitter and after a while you get tired of always reading the same comments and blocking people for their rudeness. That’s not counting spoilers or tacky memes.
If you have become bored with Twitter and want to leave this social network for good, deleting your Twitter account is relatively simple, compared to other social networks such as Facebook or Instagram. In addition, you can do it from the web version or directly from the official Android, iPhone and iPad applications.
Twitter does not speak directly of deleting or deleting, instead it refers to deactivating your account. To do this you must go to Settings and privacy, which you will find in the drop-down menu below the profile icon. Within the Account tab, we will see the option Deactivate your account.
Deactivate our Twitter account
To prevent us from accidentally doing this, clicking on Deactivate your account will show us information that we must ** read beforehand in case we are not entirely sure about leaving our Twitter account.
Specifically, Twitter will notify us that “this action will deactivate your account.” Among other things, it reminds us that we will have a period of 30 days to retrieve it, that our Twitter comments may continue to be indexed in search engines such as Google or Bing, etc. If that’s okay with us, we click Disable. We will be asked for our Twitter password and we will have to click once more on Deactivate account.
Once we have deactivated our Twitter account, its managers notify us that “your Twitter account, as well as your visible name, your user name and your public profile, will no longer be visible on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS and Twitter for Android ”.
Another detail to take into account. If in the future we are going to want to reuse our username or our email address, before deactivating the Twitter account we will have to change these two data from Settings and privacy.
And as a security measure, if you regret deactivating your Twitter account, you have 30 days to restore it. To do this, you will only have to log in to Twitter again with your credentials, username or email address and password, and the deactivation process will be canceled.
Download our Twitter data
During the deactivation process of our Twitter account, we are also invited to download our Twitter data in case we want to use it or keep it as a souvenir. For this we must go to Settings and privacy, within the profile icon with our image, and in the main menu, at the bottom of the page, we will see the Request your file button.
The download is not immediate. We will receive an email message advising us to save a compressed file that will contain all the information we have generated on Twitter, in addition to our tweets.